Home Himachal Elections Shimla Rural MLA Virbhadra Singh Of Congress

Shimla Rural MLA Virbhadra Singh Of Congress

MLA Virbhadra Singh from Shimla Rural

shimla rural MLA virbhadra singh


Virbhadra Singh is the Shimla Rural MLA. He is associated with Indian National Congress. Virbhadra Singh was born on 23 June 1934 at SarahanShimla district. His father was Shri Padam Singh. Virbhadra was educated at Bishop Cotton School (Shimla) and later he obtained a Masters degree from St. Stephen’s College, Delhi. He is married to Pratibha Singh and has a son and four daughters.

Constituency Represented

Shimla district is the state capital. It is surrounded by Mandi and Kullu, Kinnaur, Uttarakhand and Sirmaur districts. The elevation of the district ranges from 300 metres (984 ft) to 6,000 metres (19,685 ft). As of 2011 Census, it is the third most populous district of Himachal Pradesh (out of 12), after Kangra and Mandi. It is the most urbanized district too. Tourism and agriculture/horticulture are the major sources of income.

Political Standing

Virbhadra Singh became the Chief Minister of the state for the first time in April 1983 and held the post until March 1990. He was again appointed the role between December 1993 and March 1998; and once more from March 2003. With reappointments within those years, this record amounted to him holding the office on five occasions. Between 1998 and 2003, Singh was Leader of the Opposition in the state Assembly. He was also president of the Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee from February 1992 to September 1994, and leader of the Congress Legislative Group. He was president of the State Congress Committee in 1977, 1979 and 1980. In July 2012, he quit all key party posts at a crucial time prior to the state elections of November 2012. It has been reported that the trigger for the resignations was his exclusion from the Screening Committee for shortlisting of election candidates. Singh was appointed to lead the party on the eve of November 2012 elections and did so with success. Thus he became the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh for a record sixth time.

Contact Details



And, The Presspeak



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version