Saturday, June 15, 2024

Top 5 This Week


Related Posts

Seraj MLA Jai Ram Thakur Of BJP

Seraj MLA Jai Ram Thakur Of BJP

seraj mla


Jai Ram Thakur is Seraj MLA. He is associated with Bharatiya Janata Party. He is the son of Shri Jethu Ram Thakur. He was born on 06-01-1965 at Tandi, Distt. Mandi. He Graduated from Govt. College, Mandi. He is married to Dr. Sadhna Thakur.

Constituency Represented

Seraj is a large village located in Banjar of Kullu district with total 482 families residing. The Seraj village has a population of 2439 of which 1273 are males while 1166 are females as per the Census 2011. In Seraj village, population of children with age 0-6 is 272 which makes up 11.15% of the total population of village. Average Sex Ratio of Seraj village is 916 which is lower than state average of 972. But the child sex ratio for Seraj is 929, higher than the state average of 909. Seraj village has lower literacy rate as compared to the state. In 2011, the literacy rate of Seraj village was 79.05% compared to 82.8% of the state. In Seraj, male literacy stands at 91.61% while female literacy rate was 65.31%.

Political Standing

Jai Ram Thakur was the Joint Secretary, State ABVP, 1986 Organizing Secretary, ABVP (J&K), 1989-93; State Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party Yuva Morcha; 1993-95; President, State Bharatiya Janata Party Yuva Morcha, ii) BJP District Mandi 2000-03; Vice President State BJP, 2003-05 and President State Bharatiya Janata Party 2006-09. He was elected to the State Legislative Assembly in 1998 and re-elected in 2003 and 2007 from Chachiot Assembly Constituency, which was renamed after the delimitation. He remained Chairman, General Development Committee & Education Committee and Vice-Chairman and State Civil Supplies Corporation Ltd. He also remained Chairman of Rural Planning Committee and Member of various other House Committees before being inducted into Council of Minister as Panchayati Raj and Rural Development Minister on 09-07-2012. He was elected to the State Legislative Assembly for a consecutive fourth term in December 2012. He won by a margin of 5772 votes. Tara Thakur of Congress was the trailing candidate.

Contact Details


And, The Presspeak

Himachal Khurki
Himachal Khurki
Himachali with blood, heart & Soul. Gali Gali Himachal Ki Nas Nas Mein Basi Hain. Truly loves & care about the state of Himachal Pradesh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles