Saturday, June 15, 2024

Top 5 This Week


Related Posts

Rampur MLA Nand Lal Of Congress

Rampur MLA Nand Lal Of Congress

rampur mla nand lal


Nand Lal is the Rampur MLA. He is associated with Indian National Congress. He is son of late Shri Pyare Lal. He was born on 16th April 1954 at Deothi (Rampur Bushahr), Distt. Shimla. He is a Post Graduate in Political Science from Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla. He is married to Smt. Satya.

Constituency Represented

Rampur Bushahr is a municipal council in Shimla district. It is about 130 km from Shimla, well connected with National Highway which passes through Narkanda. Rampur is a very beautiful place situated at the banks of the river Satluj. The city has many popular places like Jhakri, Sarahan and Green valley Gaura, Shraikoti, Hatu Mata temple to name a few. The city is also the home to Asia’s Largest Hydro Power Project – The Nathpa Jhakri project built by Satluj Jal Vidyut Nigam Ltd. (formerly known as Nathpa Jhakri Power Corporation) at Jhakri and world’s deepest surge shaft at Shah (22 km from Rampur).

Political Standing

After completing Basic Training Course from I.T.B.P. Academy, Nand Lal was inducted into Commando Contingent, (I.T.B.P.); actively involved in the security arrangement to International events i.e. Asiad, 1982, ii) Non-Aligned Meet, 1983, and iii) Commonwealth Conference, 1984; Commanded ITBP Battalion in highly militant infested areas of Jammu and Kashmir (twice); was involved in the development of a village near Delhi adopted under ‘Village Adoption Scheme’, Govt. of India; organized medical camps and undertook developmental works under Border Area Development Programme; worked also for inculcating a sense of security amongst the people of Jammu & Kashmir and Arunachal Pradesh.

Joined S.P.G., in 1985 and remained in it till 1997; received letter of appreciation from the former Prime Ministers late Shri Rajiv Gandhi and Shri Chander Shekhar, in recognition of his distinguished services; was felicitated also by the Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh in appreciation of his contributions to the security and development of the State; recipient also of ‘President Police Medal’ (twice) for fighting against militancy and for his outstanding services during 2001 and 2007 respectively. Sought voluntary retirement from Central Govt. Service in 2007 and joined Indian National Congress in order to better serve the people of his constituency.

Elected to the State Legislative Assembly in 2007; remained member, Subordinate Legislation & Privilege Committees. He was re-elected to the State Legislative Assembly in December 2012; appointed Chairman, Privilege Committee and thereafter Chief Parliamentary Secretary. He won by a margin of 9471 votes. Prem Singh Draik of Bharatiya Janata Party was the trailing candidate.

Contact Details


And, The Presspeak

Himachal Khurki
Himachal Khurki
Himachali with blood, heart & Soul. Gali Gali Himachal Ki Nas Nas Mein Basi Hain. Truly loves & care about the state of Himachal Pradesh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Articles