26.6 C
New Delhi
Sunday, May 9, 2021

Highest Ever, 19 Indo-Canadians Sweep Elections!


And these Jugaad simply deserve your applause!

Hacks aka Jugaad in India, but hey, it is not just the copyright of Indians to be good at Jugaad. There are many people...

These Memes about 90s will give you a dose of laughter, provided you lived the 90s!

The years gone by always end up giving you mixed feelings. It is not about time passed but how fast the world has changed...

#SanjuTrailer is out and it gives birth to another meme trail you will love!

The internet is not at all tired of praising Ranbir Kapoor's rather Sanjay Dutt's Sanju. The trailer has crossed 16 Million views in a day...

CBSE Class X results are the gold mine of memes, here are the best of the lot!

With anything major happening in our country the netizens are treated with whole lot of memes. No matter what kind of news it is,...
Team Khurki
Team Khurkihttps://khurki.net
KHURKI is a character who's sarcastic by birth and has sarcasm running in its veins in place of blood. Its bitter-sour tongue gives it the edge!

It’s a moment of joy for the Indo-Canadians after a sweep in the just concluded elections.

The Indian origin Canadians had much to cheer about after a historic representation in the new Parliament with the election of 19 MPs.


Though Indians comprise of just 3% of the total Canadian population, the recent new number of Indo-Canadian lawmakers far outstripped the previous high of nine, which in itself is an achievement..!!


The Justin Trudeau effect pulled in at least 15 Indo-Canadian Liberals to the Parliament in Ottawa. They won seats in four provinces – Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta.


Among the prominent winners was Harjit Sajjan of the Liberal Party, a Canadian Armed Forces veteran, who served three operational deployments in Afghanistan.


The longest-serving Indo-Canadian MP, Deepak Obhrai, won for the seventh time from Calgary Forest Lawn, while four-time MP Nina Grewal lost the elections.

The biggest loser was minister of state for sports Bal Gosal, who lost by about 6,000 votes to Liberal Party candidate Ramesh Sangha in Brampton Centre constituency of Ontario. Also a winner was Sukh Dhaliwal, another Liberal, who as an MP in 2010 had moved a resolution in the Canadian Parliament to have the 1984 riots in India declared a genocide.


Some Indo-Canadian MPs:


Anju Dhillon: Liberal, won the Quebec constituency of Dorval-Lachine-LaSalle


Chandra Arya: Liberal, won from Nepean in Ontario


Ramesh Sangha: Liberal, won from Brampton Centre in Ontario, defeating minister of state Bal Gosal


Gagan Sikand: Liberal, won from Missauga-Streetsville in Ontario


Deepak Obhrai: Conservative, won from Calgary Forest Lawn in Alberta


Harjit Sajjan: Liberal, won from Vancouver South in British Columbia

indo-canadians sweep

Sukh Dhaliwal: Liberal, won from Surrey Newton in British Columbia

indo-canadians sweep

Raj Saini: Liberal, won from Kitchener Centre in Ontario


Bardish Chagger: Liberal, won from Waterloo in Ontario


Bob Saroya: Conservative, won from Markham-Unionville in Ontario

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Also From The Author

Thrown Off Train by Railway Police, Fencing Champion Dies

Had gone to look up wife in the ladies compartment.

Watch Heart-Breaking Deaths In Football Ever. Khurki Says RIP

This is a video collection of all the football players who died on the sports ground while playing the game they loved..!!! RIP players. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQ8LDOi0cso

Sorabh Pant’s Rant Is A Slap On Shobha De’s Face!

Is such a reaction justified in the name of sarcasm?

Will Modi Make It To Varanasi Today, Finally?

Mere Narendra Modi Aayenge!

Prabh Gill’s Latest Song Is Rocking The Charts

'Mere Kol' must listen!