Jaswan-Paragpur MLA Bikram Singh Of BJP


Bikram Singh BJP MLA From Jaswan-Paragpur


Bikram Singh is the MLA of Jaswan-Paragpur owing allegiance to the Bharatiya Janata Party. He was born on 28th August, 1964 at village Jole, Tehsil Jaswan, Distt. Kangra. He is B.Sc from Shimla in 1987 and B.Ed from Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla, in 1988. Name of his father is Late Kishan Chand.

Constituency Represented

Bikram Singh MLA from Jaswan-Paragpur. Jaswan was a precolonial Indian state centred at Rajpura, in modern-day Himachal Pradesh. It was founded in 1170 by Raja Purab Chand, a scion of the ancient royal family of Kangra. In 1815, the Sikh maharaja Ranjit Singh ordered all his available forces to assemble at Sialkot. The raja of Jaswan, Ummed Singh (1800–1849), failed to obey the summons and was fined a sum beyond his means. The raja was forced to relinquish his state to the Sikh emperor, and accepted a jagir of 21 villages and 12,000 Rs per annum.

In 1848, he joined the Sikh in an unsuccessful revolt against the British. His palaces were plundered and his territory annexed. He was stripped of his title and exiled to Almora, where he died a year later. In 1877, the jagir in Jaswan, along with several other former properties in Rajpura and Amb, was restored to Ummed’s grandson Ran Singh (b. 1833), who also later acquired the jagir of Ramkot in Jammu upon marriage to a granddaughter of Maharaja Gulab Singh. The titles claimed by the princes, however, were still denied any recognition until Raghunath Singh (b. 1852) was granted the personal title of raja on account of his ancient Katoch lineage and marriages to two of the daughters of Maharaja Ranbir Singh of Jammu and Kashmir. The title could not be passed on by inheritance, and it did not grant him the right to administer his jagir. He divided his property amongst his six children. 

Political Standing

Bikram Singh MLA from Jaswan-Paragpur. He is associated with Bharatiya Janata Party. He was elected as MLA from this Vidhan Sabha seat in the elections held in 2012. He won by a margin of 6093 votes. Nikhil Rajour of Indian National Congress was the trailing candidate.

Contact Details


And, The Presspeak


Himachal Khurki
Himachali with blood, heart & Soul. Gali Gali Himachal Ki Nas Nas Mein Basi Hain. Truly loves & care about the state of Himachal Pradesh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Related articles

Kartik Aaryan breaks his box office records with ‘Bhool Bhulaiyaa 2’

Kartik Aaryan started his career exactly 11 years ago and out of the ten movies he has done...

Tom Cruise on another Impossible death-defying mission, trailer out

Tom Cruise is back with his Maverick style. An all-new trailer has just dropped for Mission: Impossible —...

JugJugg Jeeyo trailer out…paisa vasool entertainer on cards

JugJugg Jeeyo is a story set in the heart of Patiala and much like the city, it’s full...

Most Underrated Bollywood Comedy Films You Must Watch!

Comedy, the genre that’s loved by everyone, the genre whose audience can be a 10 year or a...