Congress issues list of candidates for upcoming MC polls


Shimla, June 9: After initial reluctance to formally issue the list of candidates for the MC polls, the Congress on Thursday finally declared names of its official nominees in 28 of the 34 wards.

Even though in many wards more than one Congress-backed candidate has jumped into the fray, following a meeting between Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee president Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu here yesterday, consensus was arrived at in 28 wards. It was also decided that the CM, MLAs and senior party functionaries would campaign for the party.

Though the much delayed action of issuing the list of candidates after withdrawals was over yesterday, it could leave rebels in many wards. However, the Congress could improve its chances by declaring a list of candidates. “We have formally announced candidates in 28 wards and in the remaining too, some candidates can retire in favour of Congress-backed candidates,” said Sukhu.

He said the Congress would go to the polls highlighting the “failure of the Modi regime along with its unfulfilled promises”.

“Despite giving all four Lok Sabha seats to the BJP, Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his two visits to the state has only disappointed the people of the state as no major announcements were made,” he said.

The six wards in which consensus could not be arrived on one single name includes Totu, Majiath (Shiv Nagar), Kachi Ghati, Krishnagar, Shanti Vihar and Vikasnagar. The BJP on the other hand has declared its candidates in all 34 wards of the Shimla MC. The other main political player in the Shimla MC polls, the CPM, has also not declared candidates in seven wards. The CPM has said its party cadres and supporters would extend support to like-minded candidates in these seven wards.

Congress candidates

1. Tanuja Chaudhary (Bharari) 2. Manpreet Singh Sembi (Ruldubhatta) 3. Devinder Chauhan (Kaithu) 4. Jenny Prem (Annandale) 5. Anjana Thakur (Summer Hill) 6. Indu Thakur (Boileauganj) 7. Anand Kaushal (Tutikandi) 8. Simmi Nanda (Nabha ) 9. Roop Chand (Pinkoo) (Phagli) 10. Sushma Kuthiala (Ram Bazar) 11. Inderjeet Singh (Lower Bazar) 12. Archana Dhawan (Jakhoo) 13. Mahima Chauhan (Benmore ) 14. Anita Thakur (Engine Ghar) 15. Baljit Singh Thakur (Sanjauli Chowk) 16. Ishra Hetta (Upper Dhalli) 17. Gopal Sharma (Lower Dhalli) 18. Rita Thakur (Bhattakufar ) 19. Meera Sharma (Sangti ) 20. Kuldeep Thakur (Malyana ) 21. Rajan (Panthaghati ) 22. Rakesh Chauhan (Kasumpti) 23. Seema Chauhan (Chotta Shimla) 24. Monika Thakur (Kangana Dhar) 25. Mahima Thakur (Pateog ) 26. Kusum Thakur (New Shimla) 27. Jeet Ram Panwar (Khalini ) 28. Poonam Pathania (Kanlog ).

Source Tribune India

- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY Cancel reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version